Decided I'd visit the local TCG store after my weekly therapy sessions. I want to make friends. I therapist agrees that I need more social interactions beyond work, my fiance and the Internet. At the moment, my fiance is my only "friend". And as much as I love them, it's not healthy.
But making friends - hell, meeting new people in general - has always been a problem for me. I feel awkward and stiff. So I worried a lot, going into this. I planned on finding someone to teach me how to play the One Piece TCG - and wow, I was actually surprised at how open the community was! The two guys that taught me for most of the time were actual gradeschool teachers so I guess I directly found the perfect help for me. They were really good at explaining and so kind and calm. I had really worried that I might make a fool of myself with what a noob I was but I really felt welcome. It's a shame that these 2 guys were apparently from a bit far away and no regular visitors. They also aren't part of the stores Discord community, so I can't really contact them.
I stayed for about 2 hours before my social anxiety became a bit too much - they asked for my name when I left and I told them its "Lemmy"... and stupid me just didn't ask their names back.
I have a lot to learn... both socially and in the card game but I'm super happy with how this day worked out!
I want to try and go there more regularly. I ordered the deck they recommended me - it's the deck I had my eyes on in the first place so I'm excited! The three Captains deck with Luffy, Kid and Law. I want to practice so I can take part in the local events soon!